Skip to contents

Roger Hannigan Gilson

Roger Hannigan Gilson is a Hudson Valley journalist and humorist. A former crime reporter for the Register Star, he now runs the news site The Other Hudson Valley.

Coronavirus Roundup: Scrutiny Surrounds Cuomo As Calls to Strip Emergency Powers Grow Louder

Plus: new nursing home visitation rules, an update on child vaccines, a mass vaccination hub is coming to Yonkers, and the US surpasses a half-million confirmed COVID-19 deaths.

Coronavirus

New York Banned Evictions. The Housing Crisis Got Worse.

Landlords have found ways to oust renters with the market surging in the Hudson Valley. What will happen when the moratorium ends?

Economy

Coronavirus Roundup: New York Confirms First South African Variant Case

At least 70 cases of the UK variant have also been found. Plus: new CDC guidance on schools and masks, a non-apology from Cuomo on nursing home data, and vaccination opens to those with comorbidities.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Vaccine Eligibility Will Expand Next Week to Include Underlying Conditions

But good luck getting an appointment. Plus: updates on indoor dining, Super Bowl spikes, federal stimulus checks, and more.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Cuomo Under Fire For Ignoring Health Officials, Undercounting Nursing Home Deaths

“When I say ‘experts’ in air quotes, it sounds like I’m saying I don’t really trust the experts,” the governor said. “Because I don’t.”

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Federal Vaccine Allocations Will Rise, With Goal of Inoculating 300 Million Americans By Fall

News and announcements from the federal government, New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Tuesday, January 26 and Wednesday, January 27.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Cuomo Says State Will Ease Shutdown Strategy With Infection Rate Falling

News and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Saturday, January 23 through Monday, January 25.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: White House’s Number One Goal Is ‘Restore Trust’

News and announcements from the federal government, New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Thursday, January 21 and Friday, January 22.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: New Variant Could Become Dominant US Strain by March, CDC Warns

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Thursday, January 14 and Friday, January 15.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Vaccine Eligibility Expands Again, Flooding An Already Broken System

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Tuesday, January 12 and Wednesday, January 13.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Vaccine Eligibility Expanded, But Confusion and Delay Reign

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Saturday, January 9 through Monday, January 11.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Federal Report Warns of USA Variant; ‘No Vaccines Should Be In Freezers’

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Thursday, January 7 and Friday, January 8.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Given Green Light, Counties Plan Vaccine Distribution

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Tuesday, January 5 and Wednesday, January 6.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: UK Variant Found in New York Amid Sluggish Vaccine Rollout

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Monday, January 4.

Coronavirus

Amtrak’s Secret Plan to Fence Off Parts of the Hudson River

A confidential document obtained by The River details the railroad company’s strategy for further limiting access to the river’s east bank.

Environment

Coronavirus Roundup: Congress Reaches Deal; Vaccinations Expand in New York

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Saturday, December 19 through Monday, December 21.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Nursing Home Vaccinations Begin Monday; Moderna Vax Authorized

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Thursday, December 17 and Friday, December 18.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: Congress Nears Relief Deal With Stimulus Checks, No State Aid

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Tuesday, December 15 and Wednesday, December 16.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: New York Begins Vaccinations

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Saturday, December 12 through Monday, December 14.

Coronavirus

Coronavirus Roundup: ‘Living Room Spread’ Now Accounts for Most Traceable Cases

All the news and announcements from New York State, the Hudson Valley, and the Catskills for Thursday, December 10 and Friday, December 11.

Coronavirus
1 of 6